Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing

Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing Environmental Health and Contractor 6200 Park Ave. Ste 100 | Des Moines, IA 50321 (515)242-5871 | contractor.registration@iwd.iowa.gov

Your registration WILL NOT be processed until all the following have been completed:

- Signed and completed new application/renewal form.
- Valid Iowa unemployment insurance account number (regardless of if you are an out-of-state contractor and do/don't have employees) create an account at <u>www.myiowaui.org</u>
- NAICS code (see page 2) only applicable if NEW or wanting to change current NAICS.
- \$50.00 non-refundable check/money order or signed and notarized Fee Exemption form.
- Workers' Compensation #22 box checked and required documents attached (if applicable)
- Out-of-State Contractor Bond form with POA attached or letter from the DOT (if applicable)

1. Owner Name			2. Business Name							
3. Doing Business As (if you have registered with the Secretary of				of State as a DBA only)			4. Previous contractor registration #			
5. Phone number 6. Mobile number			7. Fax number			8. Email address (for electronic notices)				
9. Address			10. City				11. State	12. Zip		
13. County		14.0wner's social security # 15.Bu		siness FEIN# 16.NAICS code #						
17.18. IA Unemployment InsuranceNewAccount #		19.Business type: Corporation Partnership Sole Proprietor								
□ Renewal 00				Trustee Other (i.e.,LLC):						
20.Name of additional owner, officer, partner, or member				Email address			Phone number			
Mailing address			City			State	Zip			
Name of additional owner, officer, partner, or member				Email address			Phone number			
Mailing address				City			State	Zip		

21. Fee Exemption

I do not qualify I believe I qualify (fee exemption form must be completed, signed, and notarized)

22. Iowa Workers' Compensation – Check ONE that applies to your business.

I have employees and insured – enclose copy of Worker's Compensation Certificate of Insurance.

LI have employees and self-insured – enclose copy of Certificate of Relief issued by the Iowa Insurance Division

have no employees; therefore, I am not required to provide a Worker's Compensation Certificate of Insurance.

23. Out-of-State Contractor

am not an out of state contractor lam an out-of-state contractor (attach Out-of-State Contractor Bond form with POA or letter from the DOT, if applicable)

24.I certify that the information on this form is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Name of individual cor	mpleting form
------------------------	---------------

Signature

Date

Supplying false information with a contractor registration application may result in a \$500.00 civil penalty and criminal prosecution.

Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing

Plumbing, HVAC/R, Hydronics, and Mechanical Professionals

If you require a license with the Plumbers & Mechanicals Systems Board (PMSB), **do not complete this form**. Instead, visit <u>www.idph.iowa.gov/pmsb</u> or call 866-280-1521 to complete registration and licensing together.

Unemployment Insurance Account Number

You must obtain an unemployment insurance account number before applying for contractor registration **even if you have no employees.** To obtain a UI# visit <u>www.myiowaui.org</u> or contact customer service at 888-848-7442 or IWDuitax@iwd.iowa.gov.

NAICS Code

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used by Federal statistical agencies to classify businesses for statistical purposes.

230000	Other/Undefined		Highway/Street and Bridge Construction	238220	Plumbing/Heating & A/C Contractors
236115 New Single-Family Housing Construction		237990	Other Heavy/Civil Engineering	238290	Other Building Equipment Contractors
236116	236116 New Multifamily Housing Construction		Poured Concrete Foundation Contractors	238310	Drywall & Insulation Contractors
236117	236117 New Housing For-Sale Builders		Structural Steel/Precast Concrete Contractors	238320	Painting & Wall Covering Contractors
236118	236118 Residential Remodelers		Framing Contractors	238330	Flooring Contractors
236210	6210 Industrial Building Construction		Masonry Contractors	238340	Tile/Terrazzo Contractors
236220	Commercial & Institutional Bldg Construction	238150	Glass and Glazing Contractors	238350	Finish Carpentry Contractors
237110	Water/Sewer Line Construction	238160	Roofing Contractors	238390	Other Building Finishing Contractors
237120	Oil/Gas Pipeline Construction	238170	Siding Contractors	238910	Site Preparation Contractors
237130	Power/Communication Line Construction	238190	Other Foundation/Structure & Bldg Exterior	238990	All Other Specialty Trade Contractors
237210	Land Subdivision	238210	Electrical and Wiring Installation		

Workers' Compensation

A contractor with one or more employees must submit proof of workers' compensation insurance. In most cases employers must submit a certificate of insurance showing an effective date and listing the Division of Labor as a certificate holder. A self-insured contractor shall submit a <u>Certificate of Relief</u> from the Iowa Insurance Division.

Out-of-State Contractors

Out-of-state contractors must file a \$25,000.00 surety bond at the time of registration. The bond must meet three criteria in order to be valid: 1) the bond must be executed by a surety company licensed to do business in Iowa, 2) the bond must be issued on the <u>Out-of-State Bond form</u> provided at <u>www.iowacontractor.gov</u> with the bonding company's seal and two original signatures, and 3) the bonding company must attach their Power of Attorney (POA) to the form. Once we have accepted a valid bond, we consider it continuous until we receive a bond cancellation from the bonding company. If an out-of-state contractor is pre-qualified to bid on projects for the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), they may submit their DOT-issued pre-qualification letter in lieu of a bond.

Fee Exemption

Sole-proprietors and single member LLC contractors who meet the specific criteria may send a completed signed and notarized Fee Exemption form instead of payment. To qualify for registering without payment, a self-employed contractor must not work with or for other contractors in the same phases of construction and must not pay more than \$2,000.00 per year to employ others. Single- member LLCs must submit proof of single member status.

Online Public Portal

You may pay for your annual \$50.00 non-refundable registration fee and submit your renewal/application online at <u>https://contractor.iowa.gov</u>. You will need to set up an online account prior to submitting your application and payment.